Best trip planner apps for iPhone, compared
Each of these apps is good at something different. TripIt builds an itinerary from your booking emails, Wanderlog plans on a map with friends, Tripsy is at home on every Apple device, Polarsteps tracks the trip as it happens, and Splitwise and Tricount only split the bills. Kordy puts the plan, the shared costs, the packing list and the chat in one trip. We make Kordy; here is how they compare, with sources.
Which one fits your trip
You plan and pay as a group and want it all in one app
Kordy. Plans, shared expenses with balances, packing lists and chat in each trip; free for up to 5 trips you create and 5 expenses a day.
Your bookings arrive by email and you travel often
TripIt. Forward the confirmations and TripIt builds the itinerary; Pro ($49 a year) adds detailed flight alerts.
You want unlimited free trips, planned on a map with friends
Wanderlog. Free for unlimited trips and tripmates, with live collaboration and bill splitting; offline access is Pro.
You use a Mac and an Apple Watch too
Tripsy. Native apps on iPhone, iPad, Mac and Apple Watch; expenses and email forwarding are Pro.
You want the trip tracked and shared automatically
Polarsteps. Automatic route tracking, followers without an account and printed Travel Books; no expense splitting.
You only need to split the bills, for free
Tricount. No limits, no ads and no account needed; it doesn't plan trips.
You split bills all year, not just on trips
Splitwise. Many ways to split and, in some countries, payments from the app; the free plan allows 4 new expenses a day.
Side by side
| Kordy | TripIt | Wanderlog | Tripsy | Polarsteps | Splitwise | Tricount | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price (US) | Free · Pro $1.99/week, $4.99/month or $39.99/year; $7.99 once for one trip | Free · Pro $48.99/year in the App Store ($49 on tripit.com), 30-day free trial | Free · Pro $39.99/year on wanderlog.com (the App Store lists $31.99–$59.99/year and $5.99–$16.99/month) | Free · Pro $9.99/month or $59.99/year, $299 lifetime (several App Store prices) | Free · Plus $9.99/month or $34.99–$44.99/year | Free · Pro (App Store lists several prices, $2.99–$39.99) | Free, no paid plan |
| Free plan | Up to 5 trips you create, 5 new expenses a day | Itinerary from forwarded emails; no trip limit stated; 3 documents per trip | Unlimited trips and tripmates, with budgeting and bill splitting | Unlimited trips and guests; expenses, email forwarding and flight alerts are Pro | Planning, automatic route tracking, sharing and travel stats; no trip limit stated | Up to 4 new expenses a day | Everything: no limits, no ads |
| Platforms | iPhone, iPad | iPhone, iPad, Mac (Apple silicon), Apple Watch, Android, web | iPhone, iPad, Mac (Apple silicon), Android, web | iPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Watch | iPhone, Android, web | iPhone, iPad, Android, web | iPhone, iPad, Android |
| Account | Required | Required | Not stated | Free account for sync and sharing | Required (followers can view without one) | Required | Not needed |
| Group expense splitting | Yes, free: equal or custom splits, 31 currencies, fewest-transfer settle-up | No | Yes, free: who owes whom, settle debts | Expense tracking with Pro; balances not stated | No | Yes (its core): many split types, Simplify Debts; currency conversion is Pro | Yes (its core), with currency conversion |
| Offline | Yes, free | Yes | Pro | Yes (itinerary) | Tracks offline | Expenses can be added offline | Yes |
| Live flight alerts | Pro | Pro | Listed as a feature; free or Pro not stated | Pro | No | No (expenses only) | No (expenses only) |
| US App Store rating | No US ratings yet (5.0 from 29 worldwide) | 4.8 from 312,969 | 4.9 from 36,279 | 4.7 from 5,715 | 4.9 from 10,115 | 4.0 from 29,429 | 4.9 from 7,595 |
| Best at | One app for a group trip: plans, shared costs and balances, packing lists and chat | Turning forwarded booking emails into one itinerary, with detailed paid flight alerts | Map-first planning with friends and place recommendations, free for unlimited trips | A polished itinerary on every Apple device, including Mac and Apple Watch | Tracking and sharing a trip automatically as it happens, then printing it as a book | Shared costs that go on all year, with roommates or a partner | Completely free bill splitting with no limits and no account |
Sources
- Kordy: apps.apple.com
- TripIt: apps.apple.com, www.tripit.com
- Wanderlog: apps.apple.com, wanderlog.com
- Tripsy: apps.apple.com, tripsy.app
- Polarsteps: apps.apple.com, www.polarsteps.com
- Splitwise: apps.apple.com, www.splitwise.com
- Tricount: apps.apple.com, www.tricount.com
Questions people ask
What is the best free trip planner app?
It depends on what you need for free. Wanderlog's free plan has no trip limit and includes bill splitting. Kordy's covers 5 trips you create and 5 expenses a day, with plans, balances, checklists and chat, and works offline. TripIt's free plan builds itineraries from forwarded booking emails.
Which trip planner apps can split expenses?
Kordy, Wanderlog and Lambus split expenses inside a trip, with balances. Tripsy tracks expenses with Pro. Splitwise and Tricount split expenses but don't plan trips.
Which of these apps also work on Android?
TripIt, Wanderlog, Polarsteps, Lambus, Splitwise and Tricount have Android apps. Kordy and Tripsy are Apple-only.
Is Kordy better than TripIt?
For a group trip with shared costs, Kordy does more in one app. For building an itinerary automatically from many booking emails, on Android or the web too, TripIt is the specialist.